Ups & Downs and Everything in Between

Have you ever felt as though you were on a roller coaster ride that would never end? I’ve been on that roller coaster and I would call it “LIFE.” I can only speak for myself, but I feel certain many would agree with me. Life is filled with ups and downs, peaks and valleys, twists and turns, and a whole lot of other things. Just when you think you’ve got a handle on one thing something else comes along and throws you for another loop. One minute we feel as though we are on top of the world. The next moment we are flying down the track wondering what’s ahead and when will it end.
I’m not a big roller coaster rider. I don’t enjoy having my stomach tied in knots. Gripping the chair is not what I call fun. It’s not that I’m frightened scared, this isn’t my type of fun. I can think of a lot of other ways to have fun and excitement. So I
choose other ways to have fun.
But I can’t avoid the roller coaster of life. I’ve had my share of the ups and downs, twists and turns. Through all of it, I’ve grown. My faith has been challenged and deepened. I’ve learned more and more about myself and my faith.
When you get on the roller coaster at the amusement park the ride eventually ends
and you get off. The roller coaster of life does not end, but our journey with God will determine how we handle all that occurs on the ride.
As our faith grows, our dependence upon the Lord grows as well. We are better prepared and better equipped for any twist, turn, peak or valley that we may encounter.
“Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to with the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ
Jesus.” Philippians 3:13-14

Leave a Reply

