Lessons Learned

Have you ever thought about how selfish we can be? Probably not. To be described as selfish is not something that we are all clamoring to hear. We don’t want to hear it and certainly don’t want to admit it. The unexpectant loss that the KU basketball team experienced made me think about all the things that I want for myself. Selfishness may not be something you struggle with (or maybe it is), so I will only speak for myself (and maybe a few others!).
The following are a few thoughts and statements that run through my mind. “I want it done my way. Listen to me, I know what’s best. I need that …. (I really don’t need it. I want it.) Everyone else has one, so why shouldn’t I be able to have one. Work around my schedule. I’m the dad. I’m the boss. I’m the oldest. I’ve got the experience. I, I, I, … I want my team to win. I want my plans to be followed.”
Did you notice – these statements have one thing in common. “I” is the center of everything. “I want this.” “I have to have this.” It’s all about me. That’s how selfishness works. The focus is always on me. Isn’t that how it should be? It’s not to say that my ways or my plans aren’t good. My position or role may provide me with a better perspective or provide better insight. BUT! What are my motives? What is behind all my wants and desires? Who is going to benefit from all of this? What might happen if someone else’s plan is followed? If someone else wins what’s going to happen? Is it going to be the end of the world if I don’t get my way?
Life is not all about me. From the beginning of creation there have been people living selfish lives, caring only about themselves. It began in the garden and continues to this day. People only looking out for themselves. We even see this playing out in the lives of many believers.
Sadly, I have to say that I have been a part of the selfish people of the world. What might happen if all of us experienced a time of confession and change in our lives? Confessing to God our selfish ways and asking Him to change our hearts and our attitudes. Life will certainly be different.
“God, change me from the selfish person that I am. May I become more like You – willing to give to others, putting others before myself, and not being concerned with myself.”
I think there are a lot of lessons that can be learned from KU’s season ending loss. This is one of the lessons that I learned.
Well, Late Night is approximately seven months away. This time next year VCU had better watch out!

One thought on “Lessons Learned

  1. I won’t comment about the basketball game, but I agree that selfishness is a sin disease we all face. I consider how the fruits of the spirit are all anti-self.

    Patience
    Kindness
    Self-Control
    Peace
    Love
    Faithfulness
    Gentleness
    Joy

    When I am selfish, none of those virtues are true of me. I might think that I can have Joy, but True joy comes from giving ourselves away.

Leave a Reply

