Summer of Restoration

Now that summer is in full swing, what’s on your schedule?  Is your summer calendar packed with one activity after another, one event, one trip, one meeting, one project, and I’m only speaking of the first week?!

Summer maybe a time when many take a break or go on a vacation, but it is amazing how busy our summers can be.  We shift our lives into a different gear when June, July, and August arrive, but certainly not into neutral.  Why is it that we think our lives have to be constantly on the go and at breakneck speed?  Why is it that slowing down, taking a break, and even at times coming to a complete stop are experiences that we try to avoid? Do we think we are going to miss something?  Is life going to leave us behind?

As I look to the scriptures I find instructions on resting and being still.  I am reminded by these scriptures that God Himself rested.  He spoke of being still.  Valuable instructions and commands given by our Creator.  The One who knows us better than we know ourselves.  Jesus withdrew to rest.  You waste time arguing and trying to prove your case for being so busy, when Jesus Himself took time to rest.

Why not make the Summer of 2011 be the summer that you experienced moments of rest and being still?  Your Creator might use those moments to restore your life in ways that you never imagined.  Life might be less chaotic and busy come September!

I want to encourage everyone that reads this blog to experience the refreshing movement of God within your life as you rest.

Psalm 23

The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing.  

He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters,

he refreshes my soul.  He guides me along the right paths for his name sake.

Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies.  You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.

Surely your goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever. 

Leave a Reply

