Being A Pastor

I’ve known for a long time that the responsibilities of a pastor cover a large spectrum.  This is not some new revelation that I’ve just become aware of.  Although, the past two weeks I have experienced firsthand how wide the responsibilities can be.  There is a part of me that says, “Whoa, give me a moment to process everything that I am experiencing.”  In one instance there is joy and excitement expressed by one person as they lead out in a new ministry.  While in another instance, a family grieves over the passing of their loved one.  I’ve heard the hurt in the voice of one who doesn’t know what to do and of what their future holds.  Then to hear a voice praising God for their child coming to faith.  Over the past two weeks I have spent a lot of time in hospital rooms waiting and wandering along with family members what the next moment will bring.

The past few days and weeks have been interesting to say the least.  Even in the toughest moments I have been blessed.  Blessed to be able to provide comfort, to celebrate, to grieve, to pray, to hurt, to struggle, to love, to encourage, and so much more.  God has given me the great privilege of serving as a pastor.  Three years ago God led me to this position.  What a blessing it has been and continues to be.

I don’t know what the next moment will bring, let alone what next week will entail.  But I know the One who does.  I know that He will provide for me exactly what I need to serve that individuals and families of this congregation.  I know that there will be joy and sorrow, excitement and challenges, hurt and pain, and much more.  I know that as I walk alongside the people who make up FSBC, God is walking alongside all of us.  Thank you God for your presence and provisions.

“And this same God who takes care of me will supply all your needs from his glorious riches, which have been given to us in Christ Jesus.”  Philippians 4:19 NLT

One thought on “Being A Pastor

  1. It’s so true that sometimes, like right now, we get a season of people in hospital. Folks dealing with surgeries and illness, others grieving a loss, while another family the very next day is celebrating a wedding or the birth of a child. Being in ministry can run us through the gauntlet. I’m so glad to have you leading us, Joe.

Leave a Reply

