TIME WITH OUR FATHER

Recently, I have been reminded of the importance of spending daily times with the Lord.  Oh, how often we take for granted these quiet moments of being with the Lord.  It is in these moments that God speaks to our heart, filling our tanks with words that connect with our life.  I have been having daily Quiet Times with my Lord for many years.  Over the years God has shared with me more than I can even express.  It has been amazing and overwhelming.  Time and time again God has shared truth that has enlightened the path He has laid out for me.  He has challenged me, convicted me, comforted me, and encouraged me through these daily times with Him.

I have had the privilege of serving in churches for over thirty-one years.  Over the course of those many years of sharing with children, teens, and adults I have voiced numerous times the importance of having Quiet Times with the Lord.  I believe in Quiet Times with the Lord.  I have seen firsthand the value of having a QT.  This is not a waste of time.  Rather this is a time that can have a lasting impact.

Recently I had the opportunity to share with a group of men what my Quiet Time consisted of which got me to thinking – are there other  individuals that don’t know what a Quiet Time consists of or how to have a Quiet Time?  For those of you who already have daily times with the Lord your experience may look differently than mine – and that’s all right.  But for those of you who don’t have a Quiet Time here’s some suggestions.

Find a place free from distractions

Set a specific time each day

Your daily time with the Lord isn’t something that should last for a long period of time – ten to fifteen minutes is a good start.

Get a Bible Reading plan that you will follow (YouVersion provides a variety of reading plans to choose from)

Choose a Bible translation that is easy for you to understand

Your Quiet Time SHOULD consist of reading God’s Word & Prayer time.  You may include other things – journaling, scripture memorization.

If we as Christ followers are going to raise the bar, living lives that are different from the rest of the world our daily times with the Lord CANNOT be neglected.  We need these times.  Our tanks need to be filled every day by our Lord.  If you need some help in getting started, let me know.  Give me call, send me an email, text me, I want to help you experience God’s amazing presence in your life every day.

“Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light for my path.”  Psalm 119:105

2 thoughts on “TIME WITH OUR FATHER

  1. Pingback: License to eavesdrop! « momentswithabba

  2. Pingback: Rest: A Lenten Reflection « An American Point of View

Leave a Reply

