Times of Prayer

I am learning more and more of the importance of prayer and value that one gains through this experience.  As 2014 began I made a commitment to spend greater amounts of my life in moments of prayer.  Prayer had become more of a routine, an add-on, a filler, even at times the last resort.   I knew that prayer was so much more than any of that, not to mention the great benefits that a believer gains from spending time in conversation with our Creator.

Well I’m into my second month and my prayer times are different.  Whether as a part of my Quiet Times each day, praying with another believer, in two-hour dedicated prayer times, praying while I’m driving, or all the other times, it has all been great!  Today in one of my prayer times I wrote a few thoughts and shared them with my Father.

“God, my second month of an afternoon of prayer.  There is so much to pray about – family, friends, church, …..  I’ve been “practicing” prayer for a long time, but I’ve never devoted such long periods to prayer.  They’ve always been short and to the point.  Now that I’m into my second month I’ve learned a few things about myself.

1. If you keep your eyes closed the whole time you are setting yourself up to be sleepy (especially if it is in the middle of the afternoon)!

2. I need to work from a list; helps me stay focused.

3. My prayer list is in a constant state of flux.  It’s growing.

4. I believer prayer is more critical than ever before.

5. I look forward to “marking off” things I’ve been praying for as God answers.

Earlier today I spent time praying with and praying for Alden and Andy.  It was one of the most rewarding times I’ve spent praying with these men.

God thank You for these times of prayer.  May my time with You in these environments continue to grow.    Joe”

“that you may love The Lord your God, listen to his voice, and hold fast to Him”  Deut. 30:20

Leave a Reply

